SLR – See Love Remember

Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

The second I saw the photo put up as an inspiration for this week’s Challenge, I thought: hey, I have the same one!

The beauty of the unfinished Sagrada Familia. The light. The airiness. The thought that all this sprang from the mind of a single human being… I told you, walking around made me all emo 😉

I was brought back to thinking about Gaudí as I was reading a book today, called ‘Yes-but… What if it all works out?’ (like I said, I’m in a bit of a decision crunch here)

What if Gaudí had thought to himself “yes lovely idea this Sagrada Familia, but I don’t think I can make it work with all those organic shapes…”?

… Exactly! Whole different Barcelona!

Instead, he developed new technical solutions for the ideas that sprung to his mind. Because this was the way he felt the cathedral had to be shaped – uncompromising.

Without a doubt the Sagrada Familia is Gaudí’s Masterpiece. He took the chance to be involved with this project aimed to build a cathedral and was not afraid to follow his own course after the original architect stepped back. He saw an opportunity… and ran with it.

For a while now I have been trying to work towards my personal ‘masterpiece’.

I made a first attempt.

And I failed.

I made a second attempt.

And failed again.

I was working on a third attempt.

And out of the blue an opportunity presented itself!

Could it be? All I had to do was say yes.

Yes… but, what if…?

Doubt started to spread. Was this really what I should be doing? Was I sure it wasn’t going to be a mistake?

In the end, I have decided to take a leap of faith into myself. Because only one feeling really mattered: This feels like what I have to do.

Maybe that is what it takes to make masterpieces: To live like what you do is what you are…

So, if I ever happen to win the Nobel Prize, the cake will be on me 😉

This entry was published on July 31, 2013 at 9:38 PM. It’s filed under Architecture, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

  1. Love to share a slice with you one day.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece | blogagaini

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: Ireland: a masterpiece | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a thought

