SLR – See Love Remember

Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

Seeing Hamburg – the word, an image – generally results in me taking a trip down memory lane…

Only to be slapped hard across the face by dear Lady Nostalgia.

Slapped in a way that says: “Don’t you go calling on me now, Missy! You have no good memories attached to that name or image. Remember that.”

It results in a pang, echoing inside.

In mixed emotions (does anybody else suddenly hear Mick Jagger!? ;))

In regret for past mistakes.

Not exactly a trip to Pleasantville…

The thing is, Hamburg doesn’t really deserve this bad rep. It’s a nice city in all honesty – especially walking through Speicherstadt and HafenCity.

So, it was time to turn that frown upside down!

That is why last month I decided to bring (my) Love to the city. An attempt to overprint the old, sad memories with new, loving ones. Strolling along the Elbe. A culinary tour through Sankt Georg. Having breakfast at A.mora along the Auβenalster. A Dialogue in the Dark with Jens. Currywurst at Mö Grill – twice!

I would call it a successful operation! Nowadays I still think back of Hamburg with some mixed emotions, but a large part of that is at least heartfelt nostalgia for a really nice time together with the person I love… knowing he actually loves me back 🙂

This entry was published on July 9, 2013 at 8:31 PM. It’s filed under Architecture, Street Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

  1. I love this scene….it’s like a page from a story book….it certainly has the quality of an illustration….from times passed. Would I be correct in thinking that it is a tone-mapped image? Excellent.

    • So far I haven’t taken the time yet to try some real HDR photography, but reading the Lightroom 4 Unmasked e-book from Craft & Vision by Piet van den Eynde I found some way to ‘fake it’. So I applied that process to the photo, after which I exported it to Snapseed on my iPad. Here I added a few more things, such as an Old Lense effect for a slight vignette, a Vintage Film filter giving it the yellowish colour and crumpled texture, and the frame, mimicking old, analogue film.

      I tried to get as close as possible to creating a photo that seemed old-ish, with the feeling that it may actually be a drawing and not a photo. It’s a feeling I often get when looking at some of your work, so thanks for the inspiration 😉

Leave a thought

