SLR – See Love Remember

Weekly Photo Challenge: Colour

Β© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

Β© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

The costumes worn during Kathakali were so colourful and bright, that I couldn’t resist taking a close-up photo, or two, or three.

The performance was a short version of a story taken from the Mahabharatha – one of the ancient Indian epics about the Kauravas and the Pandavas.

The story is about Draupadi and her five husbands – the Pandavas. During a game of dice, in which Draupadi was the stake, she is being lost to one of their cousins. Brutally she is taken from them by Dushasana. In an attempt to dishonour her, he tries to rip off the single garment that is clothing her, her sari. She prays to Lord Krishna to protect her. In response he makes her sari endless, leaving Dushasana unable to strip Draupadi of her garment as he unwraps layer after layer. Furious, Draupadi vows that she will not tie her hair, until it is coloured with the blood of Dushasana. When one of her husbands finally comes to her aid, he kills Dushasana and her wish is granted.

This entry was published on April 12, 2013 at 10:50 AM. It’s filed under Portraits, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Colour

  1. Beautiful photo and striking colours. I enjoyed the story behind it too.

  2. Lakshmi Loves To Shop on said:

    We watched some Kathakali dancers get ready and perform in Fort Cochin – a very colourful and memorable night! Thank you for the lovely photo…

  3. When you say “make-up stage”, I understand it is where they get ready ….getting their make-up done behind stage. ’cause that in itself is a very interesting and time-consuming process. In case you missed that, would recommend. Yes, colours everywhere in India. I would also suggest a “kuthu” show of the same story in Tamil Nadu if you have a chance. That’s a rural-theatre and quite interesting too though doesn’t have much costume. ENJOY !!

    • Luckily, I did get the chance to see the make-up process! πŸ™‚ And indeed, it is a highly recommendable thing to see. If I get a chance to visit Tamil Nadu, I will definitely try to get to see a Kuthu show. Thank you for the tip, Anantha!

  4. Very lovely photograph….
    i like it very much…

  5. Lovely, glad to have found you today through the UP challenge. Great colors and photos.

  6. oh this is wonderful!! I have been off internet and seeing this only now…love this shot!
    How was your overall experience…write to me! πŸ™‚

    • Welcome back in cyberspace πŸ˜‰ It was an absolutely wonderful experience that still makes my eyes glaze over and puts a smile on my face every day I think of it. I have seen so much – I ate so much! (can’t resist Indian food :)) I wished I could have stayed longer… I will write to you!

Leave a thought

