SLR – See Love Remember

Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day in my Life

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

My very first day in Mumbai, in fact: my very first day in India!

We decided to take things easy, as Mumbai is a pretty hectic city and requires some getting used to. So off to Gharapuri – the City of Caves – or better known as Elephanta Island. The island holds a series of Hindu and Buddhist caves, hewn from basalt rock.

Getting there requires taking a one-hour ferry ride, leaving from the Gateway of India. Once you arrive a small train will get you from the ferry landing to the base of the hills, where you will have to climb a number of stairs (or be carried up…).

Beware of the monkeys as you go! They sneakily tried to steal our bottle of Coke and got pretty upset when we decided not to let go 🙂

The main cave at Gharapuri is called the Shiva cave, dedicated to Lord Shiva, and dates back all the way to the 5th to 8th century. Apparently it used to be painted, though that is no longer preserved. Walking around, you will find the most important sculpture: the Trimurti – a three-headed Shiva, representing creation, protection and destruction. Actually, the entire cave is filled with sculptures of deities, guardians like the leogriff – a winged lion – and rows of pillars.

Now, I don’t know much about architecture, but I know about rocks, and I have to say: basalt is one tough cookie to carve! So, I walked around in awe for all the work and effort it took to create these beautiful caves – everything is finished so smoothly.

And then it was time for our (wet) ride back to Mumbai. Followed by some downtime at Leopold Café (yes, the one from the 2008 attacks) for my new favourite drink: sweet ‘n salty fresh lime soda! Perfect for quenching the thirst on a hot day 🙂

This entry was published on April 4, 2013 at 11:30 PM. It’s filed under Architecture, Black and White, Street Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: A Day in my Life

  1. Welcome to India! I went to Elephanta island not long ago and will also write a post about it soon. Seeing your post makes me want to go back to Mumbai! If you liked Leopold Cafe see if you can check out Cafe Universal near CST as well. They had the best mango lassis there of the whole trip and the only steak buns! Enjoy India.

    • Thanks Anna! I truly had an amazing time there, it being such a beautiful country 🙂 Next time (yes, there has to be a next time after this experience), I will check out your suggestion for my lassi addiction (mango, pineapple, such yummy flavours).

      I will be posting some photos from my time in Kerala soon. Where have you been, besides the Taj Mahal?

      • I have such a lassi addiction too and I loved Kerala! I visited Mumbai twice, at the start and end of my trip and it was interesting to see how my views on the city had changed after experiencing more of India. I also visited Pune, Goa, Kerala, Delhi, Varanasi, Khajuraho, Agra, Jaipur and Udaipur. I’m going to try and put posts up about all these places before I begin my next adventure to Thailand in 2 weeks! Thanks for following.

      • Sounds like some amazing trip you had there! For me, Agra will have to wait for the next trip – we would have liked to add it to the itinerary but decided to give Kerala some proper attention instead. I also started and ended my trip in Mumbai. I did notice that Mumbai is not representative for the rest of the country I’ve seen.

        Thailand is amazing btw 🙂 I was there a few years ago. How long will you be there? Since you are in the neighbourhood, any plans to pop by Angkor?

        I will keep up with your adventures. Have loads of fun! 🙂

      • Yes, Mumbai was a little overwhelming on the first visit but seemed like returning to civilization when we returned compared to some other places we had visited. North India is alot different to South India but it was good to experience a variety of parts of the country as it is so diverse. I’ll be in Thailand 2 – 3 months and yeah I am hoping to see Angkor. What’s next for your travel plans?

      • I would like to see some of Northern India next time I go there. Though I have to say I absolutely fell in love with the South 🙂

        I went to Thailand for a month, and decided to throw in a quick trip to Angkor. It can be easily arranged from Bangkok and is definitely worth it! My next plan is to head to the US again and probably also visit a few places in Europe.

      • Sounds great! Can’t wait to see all the photos on your blog.

  2. “Now, I don’t know much about architecture, but I know about rocks”

    😀

  3. kaniths on said:

    Enjoy the beauty of my country! 🙂

  4. welcome to india….

Leave a thought

