SLR – See Love Remember

Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

© See Love Remember, 2012-2013

I already did a post on ‘Home’ a little while ago, so you might remember that I like light in my home 🙂

I fell in love with the home of the Batlló Family in Barcelona – Casa Battló.

The house is nicknamed Casa dels Ossos – the House of Bones – as the architecture of the street front façade and the interior has been derived from organic, skeletal shapes, characteristic of Gaudí’s work.

I particularly loved the attic, which is shaped like the carcass of a giant dragon, with high parabolic-shaped vaults. The curved ceiling, shaped by large ‘ribs’, and strategic placement of small windows, like this one, gives the whole loft a feeling of airiness.

Seeing it, I was surprised this space was only intended to do washing and drying of laundry… I totally want to move in!

So, you can find me at my new address: Passeig de Gràcia 43 😉

This entry was published on February 14, 2013 at 9:09 PM. It’s filed under Architecture, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a thought

