SLR – See Love Remember

Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

Β© See Love Remember, 2012

I totally loved the topic of this week’s challenge! The idea to do something with ‘green’ has been on my mind for a few weeks already.

So I present to you: My Greens.

I really like to eat vegetables – probably didn’t see that one coming at age 5…

This year I ‘discovered’ okra. Of course I had tried them in restaurants, but they make delicious fried ‘chips’ too and I like to persuade my boyfriend to spoil me with them on occasion πŸ™‚

Ever since I took a cooking course in Thailand, green chilis have been an often used spice in my kitchen (are they legitimate veggies??). Though I have to admit my green curry still seems to look a lot like peas soup – working on that one!

And then there is bitter gourd..

It’s bitter.

Very, very bitter.

I have not yet found a way to make it actually taste nice… Suggestions anyone? πŸ˜‰

This entry was published on November 21, 2012 at 4:10 PM. It’s filed under Food, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

  1. Love your green vegetable typtich, and the suggestion of frying the okra – thus eliminating the unpleasant sliminess one encounters if they are not properly soaked before cooking.

    Now, the bitter gourd. Kumari makes a bitter gourd salad I really enjoy. To prepare, slice the bitter gourd finely then fry in batches till crisp and almost brown. Remove from pan onto absorbent paper and salt while warm. Add salted and drained gourd to a salad of chopped spanish onion, green chillies, and tomato, mix and zest with a generous squeeze of lime and season to taste. It’s delicious! A little bitter still, but tempered by frying, and the zing of the salad.

    Serve the salad as one of three or four other vegetable dishes accompanying a (red) meat curry, and rice, of course.

    • That’s a great suggestion! Thanks a lot.

      I tried making bitter gourd ‘chips’, similar to the okra recipe. I have to agree that the bitterness is significantly less that way. The salad sounds like a great thing to try and add a few extra flavours πŸ™‚

Leave a thought

