SLR – See Love Remember

Beautyberry

© See Love Remember, 2012

The park of Fredriksberg Slot – Fredriksberg Palace – is lovely in autumn, when  it’s coated in yellow, copper and faded green hues.

During our romantic stroll, I found this little bush of purple coloured berries.

It took me a bit of googling to find out what it is called, but the commonly used name Purple Berry Bush did the trick (it literally gave it away, so to speak :)).

Officially though, it’s called Callicarpa or Beautyberry – how lovely and befitting!

So I whipped out my camera…

For a while now I have been playing with the idea of buying a macrolens. Except that the little gadget is so darn expensive.

And then I read the e-book Up Close by Craft and Vision! Turns out there is also something called a close-up filter or lens, which comes at only a fraction of the price of a macrolens.

Truth be told that it doesn’t go as up-close as a macrolens, but at +5 diopter this magnification glass does the trick and it’s worth to just ‘give it a try’ without breaking the bank.

Lo and behold: the result! It takes a bit getting used to using it, but I’m happy with what I’ve tried so far.

I like the amount of details – the little ‘hairs’ on the berries – and the depth of field. So the close-up lens is here to stay! 🙂

This entry was published on November 4, 2012 at 10:18 AM. It’s filed under Close up, Landscape, Still Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Beautyberry

  1. Reblogged this on filmcamera999 and commented:
    beautiful!

  2. I’ve never seen berries this color. Are they edible? What’s the lens? Do share!

    • Apparently these berries are very bitter in taste, which is why birds and other animals don’t eat them (and they are left to feature in lovely autumn photos ;))

      I shot the photo with my Nikon D3100 and a standard kit Nikkor DX 18-55mm lens. At the front of the lens I screwed on a Marumi Achromat Macro-200 (+5) close-up lense/filter. As far as I am aware, Marumi is a brand that only gets sold in Japan and Europe, but other brands have similar filters/lenses (check if it fits with your lens thread before you buy one!). It costed me about 90 euros, which was about 1/4th of the price of a macro lens – so excellent to play with and see if I like macro 🙂

      Now, it can be a bit tricky to focus, as every slight move will shift your focus (the wind blowing through the bush did not help at all, so I had the branch fixed by someone else). What I did was put the lens to manual focus and turned the focusing ring to the minimum focusing distance. Then I simply moved towards the subject and rocked back and forth a little, until I had the part in focus that I wanted.

      In real life, these berries were each about 5 mm in diameter, so you have an idea of how close I could get with this filter.

  3. That’s very cool. Thanks for yur info and tips. I’m fairly cash strapped but my favorite lens (I have three) is my 50mm. The best thing about digital is you can take 100 shots and you only need one t make your heart sing.

  4. wow I have a lot to learn here!

Leave a thought

